Thursday, September 29, 2011

I Don't Get It

I tend to be a very tolerable person, but there are those few things that I just don’t understand, and I know I will never understand. Here’s a quick list.

  1. People
  2. Girls
  3. High School
  4. Rules
  5. Judging

What I don’t understand is why people can be so easily agitated. So what if I pop my gum or crack my knuckles? If it bugs you, get ear plugs. Or just don’t listen. Selective hearing exists, you know. If I tap my pencil annoyingly, do something equally obnoxious to distract from the pencil tapping. Problem solved. People tend to be softies these days. What happened to the hard exterior? I just don’t get people.

When girls fight with one another, it’s actually so entertaining. Girls fight over the pettiest things. (I would know, been there, done that) Honestly, when your best friend steals away your boyfriend, you shouldn’t hate her, you should THANK her. If your boyfriend was shallow enough to cheat on you in the first place, he wasn’t worth keeping. Not to mention the fact that it just so happened to be your best friend. If that’s the case, your friend did you a serious favor and you should be grateful to have a friend like her. Your boyfriend was dead weight, and obviously not all that into you in the first place. Hate to break it to you. I just don’t get girls.

High school is funny. It’s more about the social aspects than the actual schooling, which makes the name virtually useless. Most people look forward to school starting back up in the fall because they miss their friends. But really, if you didn’t want to hang out with them in the summer, can they even be classified as friends? It’s not like you get tax deductions for having a certain number of friends. (I’ll give you a few freebees for a. being busy with work, b. being busy with sports or c. being on vacation) A lot of the kids in high school don’t even care about school. As long as they get at least a C average and are able to graduate, high school is just a pain in the butt that happens Monday through Friday, 7:45am to 2:30pm. I just don’t get high school

Who ever came up with the idea to set rules or guidelines can fall in a hole. It’s not like people follow them, anyway. There is the rule of “off and away” during school, but how many people ACTUALLY do that? With the number of tweets during the day, it seemed like “off and away” happened more during the summer. I like to live by the policy that rules are meant to be broken. Rules are constricting. The world is continually telling you to branch out and discover yourself, but rules just keep you holed up in a little box with hardly any breathing room. No one becomes a success by following rules, and if you follow rules on how to be successful, well, that is just pathetic. I just don’t get rules.

In elementary school, we learned never to judge a book by its cover. It seems simple enough, but apparently, not so much. We may have learned not to judge an actual book by its cover, but what the librarian really meant was not to judge people by what you see. What good does it do to walk down the halls and internally (or sometimes externally) make fun of people? Does it boost your self confidence? Does it make you look tough? Does it get you an A on your Bio test? Does judging get you into college? If you answered yes to any of these questions, see a psychiatrist. Judging doesn’t get anyone anywhere in life, yet we continue to do it. I just don’t get judging.


On a side note, I realized that Trevor Allen is my twin, so check out his blog.
Also, this is the greatest thing I've seen this year. Check it out!!

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Granite is More Than a Rock

Sometimes, we take what we have for granite. We as Americans don't always appreciate the little things. Being a country that is privileged enough to have things handed to us on a silver platter, it's almost natural to expect nice things. Not to say that people don't work hard for the things they get, because some do. Others are just plain lucky.

We all know there are three "Social classes" at Sunset; rich, middle, and poor. (While I don't like to use these terms, sometimes, its the only way I can express what I'm trying to say.) Even though the school may be subconsciously categorized this way, that doesn't make any one group better than another. I mean, so what if you and your family of four live in a mega mansion and have three spare bedrooms while the person sitting next to you in health lives in a two bedroom apartment. No one is better than the other, and if you disagree, that makes you worse. So get off your porcelain pony and realize we are all equals. That's what America was founded upon, right? The same principles apply all these years later. WE ARE EQUAL.

Sometimes, I think we take even the smallest things for granite. I mean, we should be grateful that we have opposable thumbs and individual fingers. It could be worse, it could always be worse. But that saying is what people don't always get.
FIFA12 came out today, and if you didn't get it, you're a loser. But maybe you didn't get it because you don't have $60 to throw away on a game. Maybe you're saving that $60 to help pay for college. Or maybe you don't own an xbox, or a PS3. Just because you didn't follow the trend doesn't make you a loser. Those who did get the game probably don't realize how lucky they are to be able to afford it and be able to play it. So while you play all night, take a second during half time to think "wow, I'm really lucky I was able to get this and play it".

Another huge thing we as teenagers take for granite is our car. First off, there are some FAMILIES who don't have cars, so be grateful if you have one. Second, be thankful you have parents willing to pay for car insurance or damages, if that is the case with you. (I know some people have to pay their own insurance, or at least part of it) I mean, really, I'm terribly sorry you crashed your brand new 2011 convertible into a pole while texting. But not really. Why? Because Daddy is there to pick up the pieces and glue your car back together with gold. No sweat off your back. (Thank goodness, because then you'd have to return that brand new $50 shirt, right?)

Oh, one thing that REALLY gets me going is when people complain about having to go to school. With all due respect, SHUT UP. There are kids all over the world who would give anything to be able to go to school. At least we have free public education in America. Consider yourself lucky.

Just wanted to give a shout out to James Nielssen and the others who are apart of RTD Clothing. I respect what they are doing. Way to follow your dreams. Check it out

Also, shout out to Trevor Allen for having the best blog.

Saturday, September 24, 2011

Anytime, Anywhere

This is my first official blog from my phone. My internet is not currently working and Im done trying to fix it. Too complicated.

Its crazy how now, we can do almost anything on phones. The name "Smart phone" does not do the device justice. More like life phones, because we all know that without it, we're as good as dead. What is even crazier to think about is the fact that around the time we were born, (assuming you're around seventeen years old) cell phones were just getting big and they were the size of a toaster! (Not those 4 slice toasters, those are gigantic) It is remarkable to think of how far technology has come in just 17 years. Phones are now as small as a hand and they have touch screens and internet. You know all about that because I bet you have a smart phone of some sort. And if, for some crazy reason you don't, I suggest you get one. It's the latest trend, and you know what they say about high schoolers and trends. If you're not in, you're out.

Smart phones are great, but I feel like there is more harm to them than good. Kids are on them all day at school, so when it comes time to do homework, they are clueless. Oh but don't worry, you can just tweet a friend and hope they see it. Which is very likely due two the fact that everyone has a twitter. Again, if you're not in, you're out.
Smart phones destroy social interactions. No one wants to walk up to the front door of a house and knock when they can just send a simple text saying "here" while awkwardly sitting in their car, waiting for the person to see the text. (Which will happen fast because we always have our phones on us) People don't want to call each other when they can just text or tweet one another. We live and speak through our phones. Its amazing we still have voices.

The craziest thing to think about is what our children will have. With technology advancing so fast, they can probably just teleport. I guess that solves the social interactions issue though.

I guess what im kind of getting at is that we all take too much pride in our phones. We would rather save our phones than our computer, because phones can do more. (Just do me a favor and read that last sentence again and really think of how insane that is. Thanks) I'm willing to prove I can survive a day without my phone, but can everyone? Challenge me.

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Dirty Mouths

So, as most of you know, Sunset beat Jesuit in soccer tonight, 4-1, and Sunset's pretty pumped about it. How often does a team beat Jesuit? Not often, so cut us some slack for celebrating our school's well deserved and long overdue victory. I understand if you want to defend your school against all the trash talking, but when, in the past, you or your school has trash talked another, (which the possibilities of that happening are about a 9.99/10 chance) you have no right to tell us we are in the wrong. Trash talking is a low blow, I'll admit that. But everyone does it. People get caught up in the game, their adrenaline is flowing, (or their extreme love for their school) and things get said that probably wouldn't normally be said. Brush it off your shoulder and move on. Picking a fight about it just makes you a hypocrite, and no one likes a hypocrite (just like no one likes a sore loser).

I'll admit, I get pretty bummed when a team I like loses, and during the game I may say some harsh things, but I would never tell the winning team that they are in the wrong to celebrate. Play well and you deserve to win. Win, and you deserve to celebrate. Play poorly and lose. Lose, and you get trash talked. It may not necessarily be deserved, but it happens, and there is nothing that can be done about it.

Don't let the little things annoy you, or you may never be happy.

Age Discrimination

Oh boy, am I heated today.
Lets talk about the MAC Club. If anyone else belongs here, please let me know.

I am a member of the Multnomah Athletic Club, and for those of you who aren't familiar with it, its basically like SAC, but a lot "fancier". Some people call it the "rich kid club". But this club is full of old people who hate kids. I swear, they are like anti-children because they think all children are the spawn of the devil. News flash! That's only a select handful. And I'm not one of them, I promise. These old people are so high maintenance, which is part of the problem with this club. They must have everything PERFECT, which is a bit ridiculous if you ask me. But nothing is as ridiculous as the long list of rules. Lets name a few.

1. No Juniors (kids under 18) allowed in the club before 2pm
2. No rubber flip flops on the main floor.
3. No athletic attire on the main floor.
4. No cell phones unless used in designated areas.
5. No basketball shorts in main floor restaurants.
6. Dress code:

  • Clean, neat athletic warm-up suits and athletic shoes
  • Tailored shorts extending to mid-thigh or below, slacks or clean and neat denim jeans
  • Sport shirts, sweaters or dress T-Shirts (sleeved, collarless shirts not dominated by writing, logos or printed designs) 
7. While wearing athletic attire, members must use the stairs or west elevators.
Oh don't worry, that's only a few. Oh there's also the rule that juniors aren't allowed in the restaurants after 8pm.

So, today I went down to the club to go work out. The time was around 12:30. (I get out of school at 11 on even days) I swipe my card and I'm on my merry way when the guy at the front desk stops me and tells me I'm technically not allowed into the club before 2pm. I tell him I'm out of school, but he calls the front desk and I basically get kicked out. But not before I swipe a complaint card. They will definitely be hearing from me, multiple times and in multiple ways. I just don't understand why I'm not allowed in. Like, I get if I was a menace to society, but its not like I'm going to run down the hallways knocking people over. I'm not 5 years old people. I'm almost an adult, I have like 7 more months, so cut me some slack!
My family pays money every month to be members of this prestigious club, so shouldn't we be able to come when we want to use it? I'm trying to stay fit here people! I thought that was the point of belonging to an ATHLETIC club.... Also, all the people in charge of the rules and on the house committee and what not are old, and they are the anti-children fools. They are the cause of these ridiculous rules, and anti children rules, and that's age discrimination. I'm pretty sure that isn't allowed.
Another bogus rule is that when there is a Timbers game, members aren't allowed to go out onto the balconies and watch, unless we bought tickets! ARE YOU SERIOUS BRO?! We pay enough money a month to be allowed to watch the freaking games! We didn't have to pay to watch the Beavers back when JELD-WEN was PGE Park! Granted, the Timbers is soccer, plus they are a lot better than the Beavers were, but still. Its completely bogus.
Oh my, I forgot to mention that I didn't have school one day last year, and my sister and I were meeting my mom at the club to go to lunch downtown and I REALLY had to go to the bathroom, so I tried to go into the club, but it was before 2 and the lady wouldn't let me in. I was like seriously? You can see the bathroom from your desk. I promise I'm not going to steal anything or do anything but use the restroom! You can even follow me in there if you so desire. But she wouldn't let me in. So I peed my pants. (Not really, but it could have been totally possible, and entirely her fault).
Don't even get me started on the general manager. Its like he takes cranky pills in the morning. He wrote me up once, and actually gave me a warning ticket because I was passing through the main lobby in basketball shorts. Oh boy, sue me. I was just going to the elevator because the athletic one wasn't working.

The club is eight stories, and takes up an entire block. You would think they wouldn't be so anti-kids seeing as its so spacious. Its like you don't even know we're there! I mean I even get lost in that place sometimes, and I've been a member my entire life. One time, I found the boiler room, it was crazy! And I have no idea how I got there because I took all these random staircases and service elevators. It was a miracle I came out alive. Or at all for that matter. The point is, the place is massive, and there are probably 10x more kids that belong than adults. Why not designate one of the eight floors to juniors? Or just get over the fact that we're kids, and let us live free. Everyone was a kid once, so why don't they understand?

Anyway, its almost 2, so I'm going to attempt this again, and hopefully it goes better.
For anyone who belongs to the MAC, please try to contact someone about this ridiculous "no juniors before 2" rule. Even the guy who kicked me out thought it was a stupid rule. The louder we complain, the more likely they are to change it.

Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Daily Struggles

Getting ready for school is a daily struggle. Everyone says they are going to dress cute, (or however guys dress...) and they are going to spend hours getting ready in the morning. For what though? No one cares what you wear. Most girls plan their outfit out, then end up choosing sleep over getting up early to curl their hair. (DUH! Curling hair takes way to long anyway.) As the time slips away, the planned outfit of the over-worn high wasted black skirt with a tank and sweater is tossed on the floor and out come the yoga pants and sweatshirts. If you ask me, I think guys much rather prefer girls wear yoga pants every day... awkward, I feel self-conscious just writing about that because of the implications. But hey, if you've got it, flaunt it, I guess. But that's beside the point. Girls always aim to dress cute to impress people, but its not that easy. Most people aren't impressed by your clothes, unless they are next seasons hottest trends, or you're a superstar model for high end fashion designers.
It doesn't matter what you wear, or how much money you spend on the entire outfit. You'll still get judged for it. Though it's not widely known, what you wear can put you into cliques. The outfits you wear are exactly like the outfits of the other people in your "designated clique", but you don't even realize it. If 10 people were randomly picked out of a crowd, I bet you I could tell you what stereotypical high school clique they would fit into, just by looking at what they are wearing. Its funny how cliques have expanded to more than just our personalities, but to the way we talk, act, and even what we wear.

I guess I'm just going to have to face the facts of life and get over the stereotypes in high school, as well as the harsh society it creates. If best friends want to go up against one another because they both like the same superstar soccer player, then so be it. If shoving a freshman in a locker makes you feel strong, then I guess that's that, as long as you can sleep at night. I learned that sometimes, the best way of fighting back is to do nothing at all. There is only so much change one person can make before they get worn out too. Besides, high school has been this way for decades. And they say some things never change.

But on a lighter note, watch this. You may not get it as much as I do, but its still funny. HILARIOUS

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Labels

I will never understand why some things are the way that they are. Why is high school such a cruel place? Its the place where people should get the chance to stand out, to be themselves, and to find who they truly are. Instead, we make high school the place to hide yourself, and pretend to be someone in order to be "popular". Life isn't a popularity contest. Buying the most expensive jeans and the newest boots isn't going to get you anywhere in life. Knowing who you are, that will take you beyond your wildest dreams.

People these days are afraid. No one wants to stand out, no one wants to be different. But why? What bad will it do to be yourself? Well that's an easy question. If you're yourself, you get judged. You are judged by everyone for being different, for standing out, and for doing what you want to do. If you don't wear the right clothes, you get laughed at. If you don't act a certain way, people think you're weird. If you don't like to eat lunch in the cafeteria, you are automatically labeled. High school is a dog-eat-dog world. We label each other because we are insecure about ourselves.

You like theater, you're a theater nerd. You're in leadership, you're popular. You're a cheerleader, you're a mean girl. You like math, you're a nerd. LABELS. They are all just labels. Yet we let them define us. And we allow ourselves to use them to define others. I'm far from perfect, and I'll be the first to admit it. Yet no one stands up to these labels because they don't want to be labeled as something different. (And they all probably like where their nose is in relation to their faces as well). That is the problem right there, no one is willing to stand up and say, "Yeah, I may be different, but at least I'm me, and I like that".

We put each other into cliques, and people stick to their cliques because they know it's safe. LIVE A LITTLE, PEOPLE! Everyone is saying "lets mix it up at lunch, lets all get along, everyone can be friends" and in a perfect world, I'm sure it would be possible. But this isn't a perfect world, and as much as we'd like to believe it will happen, lets be honest with ourselves. It will never happen. No one is willing to dive into something new, or even dip their toes in to test it out. Make a ripple in the pool of High School and all hell breaks loose. Best friends soon become enemies, and the hierarchy of high school crumbles before our eyes.

I hope to making a ripple. But a positive one. I'm willing to be myself, to show my true colors, and to put everything out there. If you want to judge me, then by all means, judge away. But let me know how all that judging is working out for you later on in life. I'll be laughing all the way to the bank. (That way, I can cash my check and go buy all the expensive clothes I should have had in high school.)

Social Suicide

Facebook, Twitter, Blogs. It all causes problems, one way, or another. Sure, I have a Facebook, Twitter, and obviously a blog and I can honestly say I have had my fair share of problems on each one. Social networking sites are meant to connect people right? But I think it just causes way more problems than necessary.

Facebook was created to connect friends in colleges, and then used as a way to connect with old friends from high school. Now it’s used to post pictures of your awesome weekends for the people who sat at home, doing nothing. It’s almost like rubbing it in their faces, like “Here is a whole album dedicated to all the fun I had over the summer, take your time to look at it and wish you were there.” But you, sadly, weren’t invited to join the party, or go out to dinner. Cue the drama.
You can’t help but look at the entire album, and the other albums by the same person, and who can you blame? It’s intriguing! Facebook albums are a gateway into someone’s life. Everyone is guilty of FB stalking from time to time. I do it, and I’m not ashamed. I thought that’s what FB was for anyway. I mean who even cares about your statuses? No one, really. All I care about are your pictures, and what you were doing. It’s as if I’m talking to you, without having to actually talk to you. I don’t even need to be your friend in person to be your friend on FB. I’m friends with some people that I NEVER talk to. But I can be HIGHLY entertained by their pictures.

Twitter is a different kind of drama. This drama can be described in one simple word: “subtweet”

And blogs, of course, have their issues. Hence the new start. But that’s enough about that.

Guess Who's Back?!

Round two, here we go.

I discovered that brutally honest blogging is not exactly the best thing. Yes, I'm brave enough to say what is on my mind, but I realized that sometimes, what is really on my mind should be left with only my mind. There are times when brutal blogging does way more harm than good, and I consider myself lucky that I never got to the harmful part. Personally, I like the location of my nose in relation to the rest of my face, and if its all the same to everyone else, I'd like to keep it that way.

So here beings a new leaf, a fresh start, and, hopefully, still the same old me. Just maybe not quite as brutal, but hopefully not boring.

Enjoy