Apparently, everyone at Sunset forgot that last week was "Random Acts of Kindness" week, and just one month ago was "Anti-Bully Week". Just because the week has passed doesn't mean its okay to bully again, or be rude again. What is wrong with high school these days? A lot. That's for sure.
I'm not sure what's worse; the fact that someone made a "Gossip Girl" twitter account, or the fact that 85 people follow it, and it's only been up for one hour. Following them is exactly what they want. Tweeting at them saying how pathetic they are is exactly what they want. Its adding fuel to the fire. The things posted clearly aren't true, but the fact that people read them and talk about them makes them true to some people. The entire thing is just pathetic. It's weak, and the person who did it should be ashamed. I feel bad for whoever it was; they need a serious self esteem boost, not to mention a big old slap in the face by karma. Who's the bitch now?
A couple days ago there was a Facebook "Sunset Slut" Page. Really, I mean REALLY? First off, that's not even original, second, its incredibly rude. I don't think people understand that words can hurt. We all know the saying "sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me" but in high school, they do hurt. More than we should let them, but we're insecure and we worry too much about what other people think. Making accounts that bash on other people is one way that causes teen suicide. It's why there are school shootings and why kids bring guns and knives to school.
Does that make you feel safe? Does knowing that by creating this account to bash on the "populars" or the "sluts" or the "douche bags" makes the risk of a school shooting that much bigger? Does that make you want to go to school? I don't know about you, but it makes me scared. I don't want a school shooting. I don't want someone from my school to commit suicide because of this. I don't want anything bad to happen to my school, because, believe it or not, I like it. I like everyone that goes there. I may be annoyed with people at times, but I'm old enough and mature enough to know when to let it go. It doesn't do anyone any good to bash on other people, and if you never learn that lesson, I feel really sorry for you.
To whoever made those accounts, I can't begin to explain how sorry I feel for you. There's no need to create negative attention to get noticed. Maybe being noticed isn't all it's cracked up to be. There are more important things in life than being noticed in high school. What people remember most about you is what they learn about you in high school. Before you do anything too stupid, why not think, "Do I want to be remembered like this?"
Think twice before you do something, especially something on social networking sites. Karma's a bitch and always has a way of coming back.
No comments:
Post a Comment