Thursday, December 15, 2011
Let Me Be Free
A few weeks ago, we would pride ourselves on the fact that we all get along with one another, we don't have big drama, and we support one another. There were comments on how talented students at Sunset are, how athletic they can be, how proud we feel to walk the halls with the nicest, most genuine people in the Metro League. Now I'm embarrassed to say I go to Sunset with all this unnecessary drama. I mean, HONESTLY Sunset, get it together.
First off, social networking sites are not a place for drama. Besides, the drama on social networking sites is pathetic. If anyone had a serious problem, it would be a million times more beneficial to work it out in person. Especially since it's not something that everyone wants/needs to be part of.
Second, why are people arguing about some of these things, anyway? I can guarantee you that there will be people in your life that you won't like. There will be people that annoy you, people who do things that bug you, people who offend you with what they say. But what's the point in trying to argue with them on everything? You'll never win all the arguments, and if you do, what does that get you? Fired. That's what. There will be coworkers who irritate you, but you need to learn to deal with it. You can't have everything in life. Pick your battles wisely, and pick the ones that will help you to succeed, rather than the ones that will weaken your opponent.
It feels good to get that off my chest. I'm ready for a break from Sunset. It will be a chance for everyone to cool off and hopefully return as the loving, caring family of Apollos we were in September.
Monday, December 5, 2011
Average, yet Above
There have been a lot of experiences that have definitely left an impression on me, but few that have truly changed my life. Though I think it is safe to say that each experience that left an impression did change my life in one way or another, they didn't immediately change the way I looked at things. Very few things have done that.
One thing that changed my life was an episode of One Tree Hill, (which is the best show ever) called "With Tired Eyes, Tired Minds, Tired Souls, We Sleep". It is about teen bullying. I suggest you go watch the episode, now. But if you decided not to, I'll give you the gist. It's about this guy who brings a gun to school and holds seven kids hostage. He talks about how he walks into school and gets bullied, every day, never ending. He brought the gun because he was tired of it, he just wanted it to stop. Unfortunately, the bullying got to him, and he committed suicide.
"You really think I'm the only one? Ask yourself this: Have you ever treated someone like crap in this school? Ever left someone out? Ever broken up with someone in the time it takes to pass a note and disappear? Or talk trash behind their back? Maybe you just ignored it all. While you worry about the big game, or the prom, or the bake sale for the pep club, you ask yourself that, and then you tell me, is anyone else out there"
"Whats wrong with you? He's just a kid. We're all just kids. We have this life, and the things you say and do, we feel that. How can you have so much hate in your heart? How can you act like it doesn't matter? It does matter. What happened to us? We're just kids, we can't be like this. It's not possible.
"So what? All this because you didn't get into college? All this because you're not popular?" "No. All this because I'm tired of it."
"I guess that's the upside to not being there in the first place, right? Nobody misses you when you're gone" "It's not supposed to be this way. The artists and scientists, none of them fit in at 17. You're supposed to get past it. Adults see kids killing kids and they know its a tragedy because they used to be those kids. The bullies and the beaten and the loners. But you're supposed to get past it. You're supposed to live long enough to take it back."
"I want to tell you something. It gets better. It does. That pain in your stomach, that pain in your heart, it goes away. That voice in your head that says there's no way out, its wrong. Please, believe me, it gets better."
It is quite possibly the most inspiring and quotable TV episode I have ever seen, and every time I watch it, it makes me cry. Not only because it's sad, but because it happens all around the world. The episode was made in 2003. Kids brought guns to school then, they bring guns to school now, and they brought guns to school long before 2003. Unfortunately, it's a cycle that never seems to end. Things like this happen because kids are bullied. And who bullies them? The ones in the school that hold the power. The ones that want to be popular. The ones who pretend to be brave, strong, and powerful, yet inside are weak, pathetic, and lonely.
School shootings happen way more often that we think, and what is so heart breaking about it is that nothing is being done. It is a problem with a very simple solution: stop bullying. But that seems to be harder than expected. Bullying happens every day, and even with anti-bullying week in schools, it doesn't change the fact that it happens. Sadly, bullying seems to have become second nature. When we feel threatened, we bully someone weaker to boost our self esteem and make us feel better. But why? What good does that do? You bully someone, who, in turn, bullies someone else in order to feel better. The cycle goes on.
Maybe we can't avoid being bullied, but if we avoid retaliation, bullying can end. It's simple, really. Bullies are only powerful if you let their words and actions hurt. Nothing destroys them faster than ignoring them. It may be difficult, but it works. All a bully wants is a reaction out of you. If you ignore them, and continue to ignore them, they'll give up. Don't stoop to their level. You're better than that. Brush it off your shoulder, keep your head up, and move on. There will be people in life who will constantly try to bring you down, but the most important thing is to show them that you're stronger than you look.
I can't wait to get out of high school. All the bullying seems to happen here, because people are sheltered. It doesn't happen in college because the bullies get a big slap in the face from reality. Don't be that person who gets slapped by reality. It's unfortunate to see.
Tuesday, November 22, 2011
Why?
I'm not sure what's worse; the fact that someone made a "Gossip Girl" twitter account, or the fact that 85 people follow it, and it's only been up for one hour. Following them is exactly what they want. Tweeting at them saying how pathetic they are is exactly what they want. Its adding fuel to the fire. The things posted clearly aren't true, but the fact that people read them and talk about them makes them true to some people. The entire thing is just pathetic. It's weak, and the person who did it should be ashamed. I feel bad for whoever it was; they need a serious self esteem boost, not to mention a big old slap in the face by karma. Who's the bitch now?
A couple days ago there was a Facebook "Sunset Slut" Page. Really, I mean REALLY? First off, that's not even original, second, its incredibly rude. I don't think people understand that words can hurt. We all know the saying "sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me" but in high school, they do hurt. More than we should let them, but we're insecure and we worry too much about what other people think. Making accounts that bash on other people is one way that causes teen suicide. It's why there are school shootings and why kids bring guns and knives to school.
Does that make you feel safe? Does knowing that by creating this account to bash on the "populars" or the "sluts" or the "douche bags" makes the risk of a school shooting that much bigger? Does that make you want to go to school? I don't know about you, but it makes me scared. I don't want a school shooting. I don't want someone from my school to commit suicide because of this. I don't want anything bad to happen to my school, because, believe it or not, I like it. I like everyone that goes there. I may be annoyed with people at times, but I'm old enough and mature enough to know when to let it go. It doesn't do anyone any good to bash on other people, and if you never learn that lesson, I feel really sorry for you.
To whoever made those accounts, I can't begin to explain how sorry I feel for you. There's no need to create negative attention to get noticed. Maybe being noticed isn't all it's cracked up to be. There are more important things in life than being noticed in high school. What people remember most about you is what they learn about you in high school. Before you do anything too stupid, why not think, "Do I want to be remembered like this?"
Think twice before you do something, especially something on social networking sites. Karma's a bitch and always has a way of coming back.
Sunday, November 13, 2011
Hope for the Hopeless
Its stupid that I put so much thought into perfection. It can never be reached. Ever. Which makes the world we live in beautiful. Everyone has their flaws, their troubles, their frustration. It makes us human. Yet too many people strive to be perfect, altering their natural self with plastic surgery, pounds of make up, or designer clothes. What people don't seem to understand is that behind all that, there is still a perfectly imperfect human, waiting to be let free.
I've come to the realization that it is completely pointless to strive for perfection. I've already known its impossible, but now I realize it's just a waste of time. I'd rather rock my flaws then hide them. At least I'm being honest with the world about who I am and there are no secrets. Secrets can be really ugly, especially ones that have been kept hidden for a while. Which is why the truth should just be told.
I can't help that I fall for the fairy tale romance, the movie dreams, and the forever and always love. I'd be lying if I said I'd never dreamed my life was a movie. There are those moments in life where you just wish your dreams would come true and something romantic would happen, whether it be the guy of your dreams traveling hundreds of miles to find you and tell you how much he loves you, or simply going on a perfect date like one that only happens in movies. We all wish we had spontaneous romance in our lives, but unfortunately, that's not always the case.
If you are lucky enough to have a relationship like that, cherish it. Everyone wants one, but you are lucky enough to find one right now. And for the rest of us who have yet to find this perfection, have patients. It hasn't happened because it hasn't been the right time.
Timing is everything, and if something is meant to be, it will happen in good time.
Hot and Cold
It's silly, really, to be so stressed about what college to go to. It's not like I'm signing away the next four years of my life; I can always transfer. I guess I just don't want more than one freshman year. Freshman year of high school was rough enough, now I have to have a second freshman year, this time for college. Two is more than enough, but if it comes down to it, I'd much rather be happy at the school I go to, even if it means moving around, than to be miserable for four years.
Even writing about this is making me irritated. I've just been that way lately.
Even some people are irritating me. The way they are acting just doesn't make any sense. Friends are supposed to support one another, right? But I've been seeing the complete opposite from some of my friends. I'm not trying to be hypocritical, I know I was doing the same, but seeing it from an outside perspective made me realize it's not okay. I believe in the fact that at some point, you're opinions only go so far, and your friends have to make the ultimate decision for themselves, whether it's one you approve of or not. It's a lesson for them, it's their life, let them live it. Besides, it may turn out completely opposite of what you expected. Friends are a support system, the opinions of them are always valued, but they aren't the ones who get to decide how to live your life for you. I understand if the intentions are purely to protect you, but at some point, as hard as it may be to do, friends just have to let go, and let mistakes be made. They exist for a reason; to make you stronger.
So for those of you who are facing difficulties in life, I guess all I have to say is do what your heart tells you. You only live once, so make it worth it. Take every chance that comes your way, you may never know what you'll end up regretting. That is one lesson I've quickly learned this year.
Sunday, November 6, 2011
Religion?
Moving on...
A lot of people went to Breakaway this weekend. Scratch that, almost everybody who's anybody went. I didn't, for multiple reasons. One being that I was out of town, but another being I'm not entirely sure I would have wanted to go. I'm not too familiar with what Breakaway is exactly, but I know it is some sort of religious camp put together by Young Life where other high school students gather at the beach for a weekend? Don't quote me on that, but that's my general understanding. Personally, I think it's great that so many people want to get together and discuss their common interests and beliefs in God and religion. It just doesn't seem like its for me. I don't know, I'm not really a religious person, so to speak.
I don't consider myself to be a specific religion, I don't go to church every Sunday, and in fact, the only time I've ever been to church is on Christmas Day in New Zealand a year ago. And I felt uncomfortable. I'm not sure if it was because I'd never been before, or if it was because it was Christmas Day, a very religious day to some, or if it was because I felt as if I was being forced to believe something I was completely unsure about. I'm not sure I'll ever fully understand. All I know is that I felt vulnerable and uncomfortable sitting in that church on Christmas Day.
I don't know what I believe, and to be completely honest, I've never really thought about it. I guess it just didn't seem all that important to me. I'm not an atheist, I'm just not sure what to believe in. I think there is definitely some form of something out there, but I'm not sure I'd put myself under the umbrella of a religion. I'd prefer to be my own sort of religion and believe exactly what I want to believe, rather than put myself into a group of people telling me what I should believe.
I guess the reason I've thought about this lately is I feel as if I've been forced to believe certain things. There has been so much going on around me that seems so religion-based and it is really making me think about things. There are clubs, Young Life, and even people who are always talking about God and religion and I feel as if I'm being brainwashed. Not that it is necessarily a bad thing, I mean some people love their religion and their faith in God, which is great. I just feel like it's not really for me, and I would much rather discover it on my own rather than feel as if it's being forced upon me.
I believe what I choose to believe, but I respect everyone else's beliefs. We are individuals, and our personalities represent who we are. Don't let anyone take that from you, and don't let others persuade you into something you're unsure of.
Friday, November 4, 2011
Greedy Americans
I was just talking with someone about the NBA lockout and how ridiculous it is. Why can't they come to an agreement? I get that the players don't really want a 40% pay cut, but when their salary is in the MILLIONS, I think they will be able to survive. They should have been saving some of their money in the first place. But at the same time, it's the owners faults for being in this predicament in the first place. It's the owners who agreed to the current terms back in 1999 when the last lockout was going on. The owners dug themselves into this ditch, it's not fair for them to demand an easy way out.
In all honesty, I just want to march into the negotiations and scream at everyone. Why can't these two sides come to an agreement? Because they are greedy and narrow minded. Don't get me wrong, I love my basketball, and I miss watching it and going to Blazer games, but really, the players and owners need to open their eyes and see each others point of view.
If that was the way more people were, the world would be a much more peaceful place. We wouldn't have the NBA lockout issue, there would never have been an NFL lockout issue, this whole "Occupy" trend wouldn't be such a big deal. Americans are so narrow minded. (Mind you, when I say Americans, I'm talking about the general, stereotypical American. Not everyone is this way.) They refuse to see the other point of view. Who knows, the other side might have some good ideas that could be used to form a compromise.
That word, compromise, is one that doesn't seem to be in the American dictionary. It seems that no one knows how to compromise. Things can't always be perfect, you can't always get what you want, and everything comes at a price. Life is a give and take sort of thing. Why can't people understand that.
I think everything needs to be redone. Wipe the slate clean, start over. But that is clearly not going to happen. These are Americans were talking about.
I guess my point to this venting ramble is that we need to find the true meaning to a compromise. Life is full of them, and we need to learn that nothing is perfect, and there is a price to pay for everything.
Also, we need to bring back the NBA. I'm having withdrawals.
Wednesday, November 2, 2011
The Deep End
The hashtag on twitter #10ThingsIFindAttractive is what sparked this post. While scrolling through, the majority of them were about looks. People find perfect teeth attractive, a "hot body", a nice ass, big boobs, a perfect smile. Very rarely did I come across one that had something to do with personality. Which proves my point.
I can't even count the number of times I've heard people say such shallow things. Mean Girls was right in depicting high school. It may be a bit extreme at times, but for the most part, it's pretty accurate. Maybe take Mean Girls and tone it down to 35% and you've reached Sunset High School. Make a few changes here and there, and boom. Sunset and Mean Girls are the same thing. It is actually terrifying to think about, knowing how messed up the society in Mean Girls is. It is happening in our high school, as well as others all around the country. Possibly even around the world. High school is a shallow place, and I'm always afraid for those who hit rock bottom. They say nothing is worse than hitting it, but the trip down is a hard one to watch.
As much as I hate shallow people, and the way they act, and the things they say, sometime, I can't help but to wonder. I want to know what people think when they see me. I want to know how I'm being judged. I won't take it offensively; I'm not going to change because of it. I am the way that I am, and I'm happy with that. I'm just curious as to what other's think when they see me. What clique would I be put into if it were exactly like Mean Girls? Where would I sit at lunch? Would I have been invited to Cady's party? Would you?
I like the way that I am, I like the people I surround myself with. I know they are real, I know they are honest, and I appreciate it. I fear for those who constantly judge others, and those who try to be someone they aren't. Who are you fooling? Some day, your true colors will show. Why not show them sooner, rather than later?
Always be cautious of the depths of high school. It's not as deep as you think.
For Me, Shared With You
I blog about experiences in my life, things that have happened to me, things that have made an impact. Whether the impact be minor or major, positive or negative, I blog about it. I suppose it's a way of me letting my feelings out, but in a way that is helpful to others who read it. It's like a diary, but public. The things I say here are mainly for me, but I'm giving others the privilege to read them. I find that I always come to some sort of moral at the end, which some could argue is for the reader. I like to think that the entire post is directed for me, the writer, rather than you, the reader.
I come to these morals and conclusions through writing about it. It helps me find the message within the experience, helps me to understand why exactly it happened to me. Some would call it fate, and just leave it at that, but I'm not one to put all my eggs in one basket. I'm not saying I don't believe in fate, I'm just saying that I think there is a reason for everything, and I would like to come to my own conclusions as to why it happened, rather than just letting it be.
Another question I was asked was if I gave out personal information on here. Of course not, that would be plain silly. I know not to do that, I know that what is put on the internet is public, and there forever.
For those of you who saw the first edition of my blog, you know that I am a very brutally honest person. For those of you who don't know the story, it's just as well.
Within my blog, I never mention any names or hint at specific people. I never aim to hurt anyone's feelings or create something that seems like a "burn book" of sorts. It is for me, and a way to let me feelings out. I state the facts and my opinions on them. I may come of harsh at times, but I like to keep it honest.
I suppose my honesty is coming back around because frankly, I don't care if you read this or not. I don't care if you take offense to it or not. If you don't like what you read, don't keep reading. I'm not forcing anyone to do anything they don't want to do. Everything is a choice. I choose to blog, though I'm not entirely sure why. You choose to read it, though, once again, I'm not entirely sure why, nor do I really care.
Point is, I blog for me, and share it with you, so hopefully, you can learn the wonderful lessons life has given me up to this point.
Tuesday, November 1, 2011
Impossible is Nothing
If I wanted to build the most outrageous house in the history of the world, I could. I'd just have to draw up the plans and find that one person who is willing to make the impossible, possible. There are ways to do anything, and in a world like ours, there are so many chances and so many opportunities to do anything. American's may be limited in some things, but choices are not one them. I get to choose my classes in high school, my college, my degree, where I live, what I do, who I marry, what I wear. Everything in my life is a choice that I get to make.
Impossible is a fictional word. It is a word for the weak, and the simple minded. It is a word for those who don't believe in themselves, or others. It is a word that is not in my dictionary, and it never will be.
I can do anything I want if I set my mind to it and I work hard enough. The world is a creation, it didn't get to be the way it is with people thinking things were impossible. Guess what people said when the idea of space travel was brought up? "That's impossible" But look at how far space travel has come, even in the past 10 years. It is far from impossible.
I believe that God (or whoever the creator is, whatever you choose to believe) put certain things on this earth as temptations in order to spark creativity. There is a purpose for everything in the world, and the reason it came to be was because the word "impossible" was never in any dictionary.
"Anything is possible if you just believe" -A Cinderella Story
Friday, October 28, 2011
Here For You
It's one thing to not take advice when you don't want to hear it. I completely understand that. I don't always take people's advice. No one wants to hear the truth when it isn't what they want to believe. That I can completely understand. It's when someone asks for my advice or opinion, then completely ignores it.
When I give my friends my opinion on a serious matter, I say it with complete honesty, because I care about them. I never want to see my friends hurt, therefore I tell them what is on my mind. If you ask for my advice, please, at least consider it. If you don't want it, don't bother asking for it. If you know what I'm going to say because it's not the first time you've heard it, don't bother asking for it. It annoys me.
I love when my friends come to me for help because I love to help them. I care about them and I want them to be happy. When anyone (friend or not) has an issue, I'm always willing to listen and to help out. But only if they want the help. I've spent too much time trying to help people that don't want the help. It has gotten me nothing but frustration. So I'm done.
It's a bit negative tonight, but I'm just fed up. I don't want to go into too much detail because I don't want to subblog. This is happening with multiple people, and I can't handle it. The best I can do is be there for my friends, with advice to give when asked for.
Advice should always be honest. Before asking, make sure you're ready to hear it. I don't sugar coat things anymore.
Thursday, October 27, 2011
Spontaneity
I love when people surprise me. It makes life exciting. No one wants to settle for a boring, daily routine that is never different. Change is good, it's exciting, it's what makes the time we have on Earth worth it. I wish it happened more often, but some people are just too shy. I get it though, I've definitely been there. I can be very shy, but I've gotten much better. I've learned that it can't hurt to be yourself. If people don't like the way you are, they aren't worth the time. Don't get me wrong, I've got nothing against people being shy. Its just that people who are spontaneous are always the most fun to be around. You never know what they are going to do next.
I can't even explain how awesome spontaneous people are. I can't give examples as to what makes them awesome. I don't even know what to say right now. I'm actually at a loss for words. They are just awesome. Simple as that. The fact that they are unpredictable is what makes being around them so exciting. They may ask the most random things, but what makes the night so enjoyable is just saying yes to it. "Want to lay down in the middle of the street?" YES. "Want to attempt to waltz in the middle of a store?" SURE! "Want to drive to the beach right now and spend the entire day there?" OF COURSE.
Life just got 10x more exciting because it became spontaneous.
The same old thing gets boring. Spice things up and do something out of the ordinary.
Wednesday, October 26, 2011
I Don't Care
Be yourself. Two simple words put together to form a simple statement. But it's not that simple, is it? Not many people are willing to be their complete selves because they are afraid of what others will think of them. I'm glad to say that I'm not one of them. The way I act is exactly the way I am. I may be shy at first, but once I get to know you, I break out of my shell and I become myself. Why can't more people feel comfortable doing that?
I don't dress like everyone else just to fit in. I don't talk like everyone else just to fit in. I don't party like everyone else just to fit in. I don't do anything for anyone but me. And if you don't like that, then that really sucks for you. I don't care though. It is what it is.
There isn't much point to this, because honestly, I don't care. (In case you haven't already figured that out)
I guess what I'm trying to say is that people should stop worrying about everyone else and focus on themselves. No one can be happy when constantly worrying about what others think. The only way to be truly happy is to be satisfied with yourself. And the easiest way to do that?! Not caring about what others think of you. Changing the way you are for others can make you fake and turn you into someone you're not. The second you let what someone says about you affect you, you're letting them control you. Don't give them the power to shape who you are. The reason you were given that power in the first place is because you are the only one who can use it to the full potential.
Subtweets are a whole different topic, yet closely related. I don't understand why people are so offended with them. All a subtweet does is let you know that 1) you're being talked about and 2) the person tweeting doesn't have the guts to say it to your face. If all you do is subtweet, you're pathetic. I get the occasional subtweet every once in a while if it's directed towards a group, rather than just an individual, but all the time? Come on now. That's not what twitter is for, and I'd rather not have to weed through constant bitching every time I reload twitter. (Which is often. I have a bit of a problem, but I'm okay with it.)
Genius idea! How about we act like the mature kids we SHOULD be and talk to each other in person rather than subtweeting about it. I think it would solve a lot more problems and maybe, just maybe, I won't be forced to unfollow anyone. But if subtweeting is your thing, if it's what gets the blood flowing, then whatever. I don't care. It was just a thought.
Subtweet, gossip, complain. Do whatever you want. Bottom line: it's still about me, and I still don't care.
"Love me or hate me, it's still an obsession"
Thursday, October 20, 2011
Girls?
Monday, October 17, 2011
Nothing New
I'll keep this post to one topic: high school relationships.
Seeing as it's fall, it is starting to get cold out, and everyone is ready to snuggle up, all these relationships start popping up right, left, and center. The funniest thing about it though, they don't last past the winter months. Apparently, no one wants to cuddle once the sun starts shining. Typical. Mood swinging teenagers.
Guys say they don't understand girls. Girls say they don't get guys. Its clearly a mutual problem, so why is it not solved yet? Humans are a complex species by nature, but what is so complicated about being honest? If everyone was honest in how they felt and what they wanted out of something, there wouldn't be these mind games being played. Yeah, I'll admit it. Girls can be crazy. We over-analyze things, we create problems, we don't really believe we can have a "fairy tale ending" even though it's all we dream about. We're selfish and spiteful. We're complicated. But that doesn't mean guys are so easy themselves. Don't be too quick to judge.
What really irritates me with high school relationships is not the fact that they never last, but the fact that when they are over, there is awkwardness or drama created around the entire thing. Sure, you dated for 3 months, but there is no need to make a situation awkward when you two are in the same class. Okay, your relationship ended after 6 months, but don't start rumors about how awful of a person they are because they broke up with you. Maybe you need to consider the fact that you were part of the reason the relationship didn't work out. Everything in life is a two way street, so don't blame everything on everyone else. It's not fair to anyone, whether they were directly involved or not.
Relationships are always a complicated matter. The best way to deal with it is to be honest. Funny, you'd think people would understand that. But based on the drama I hear about some relationships, it's clear that some people never got that message.
Tuesday, October 11, 2011
Negativity Killed the Cat
Its a proven fact that honest and optimistic people live longer lives, and today, I've decreased my lifespan by about 5 years. Yes, thats how negative I am today. I just have a lot on my plate and not enough time to sort through it all. I need a mental health day, that way, I can just be with my thoughts and figure out what it is that I'm doing with my life.
It's hard to know who to trust these days. Sure, you know you've always got your best friends, but when you need a friend to talk to, how do you know they are going to keep it between the two of you? What makes everything especially difficult is the Internet and phones. I never feel like what I say is kept private, but I suppose shame on me for thinking it could be if it goes on the Internet. It goes beyond that though, because sometimes, I will have a conversation in person with someone, but later hear about how they told people what we said. (If that makes any sense...) No one can keep a secret anymore, and that is just frustrating. I'm no different though, and I'm not trying to make myself sound perfect. I'm far from, and I'm proud to own up to it. I just wish that secrets could be kept. But sometimes, secrets must be spread because no one can keep a good secret to themselves.
I promise to myself and to you that I will try my hardest to be more optimistic and honest. My life will be easier, though some of the honesty may make it harder at times. I know it will be for the best, and I plan to do it. But just know, if you need a secret to be kept, I keep them as locked as a bank's vault.
Monday, October 10, 2011
Hello High School
Social climbing is fake anyway. You have to act like someone you aren't in order to move up the rungs of high school popularity. Why even bother? I would much rather be considered a loser and be myself. At least I know I will sleep peacefully for the rest of my life. I don't bother coating myself in plastic just to "fit in". If I don't fit in with the people I'm around, I shouldn't be around them. I know who my friends are and I know that they love me for the way that I am, and they fact that I don't care if I'm different, or considered "unpopular". I'm me, so take it or leave it.
On a related topic, lets chat for a bit about "mean girls". (Or sometimes, "mean guys") I don't understand why people think its okay to be rude to one another. Where does it get you in life? NOWHERE! So just stop. The funny part about mean girls is that they are so horribly rude to innocent people to make themselves feel better, but when they get called out for it, they act like sweet, innocent angels. Hello, we see through you!
Mean girls are insecure about themselves so they have to put others down. But sometimes, as much as it pains you, you just have to let them run their mouth. People these days find confidence in running their mouth over the Internet, but would never have the guts to do it in person. When you're the recipient of this "blast" (which is the stupidest phrase ever), just stick it out and know that you are stronger than the mean girl because you ignore it. All they want is to irritate you to the point that you snap, and when you do, they will twist the story to make you look bad and them look like the angel. The more you ignore it, the less they will run their mouth. Without a reaction from you, they get bored.
Hating on people is just plain stupid. I mean, didn't anyone else learn the rule "treat others how you want to be treated"? They taught that to us in KINDERGARTEN. You would think that by high school people would have figured out what it meant. I'm ashamed to say that some people still don't understand it, and unfortunately, they probably never will.
The important thing to remember is that who you are is not defined by what you wear, how popular you are, or how rude you can be, but how you act. If you act like a bitch, people think you're a bitch. And they are probably right.
Stay strong and be yourself, and no one can break you down.
Thursday, October 6, 2011
Always and Forever
Friendship is unconditional. It is absolute. It does not change based on moods, feelings, actions, or distance. True friends are always there for one another, through thick and thin. Friends may have their disagreements from time to time, but that's normal. What defines a friendship is not how long you can stand one another, but how long you can support one another. I would do anything for my friends. I would move Heaven and Earth to make sure they live a good life. Nothing is more heart breaking than seeing someone you truly care about beaten down and hurt. Even if my friends don't always have my back, it is a guarantee that I will always have theirs.
I've been through rough times, I've been beaten down, I've had days where I didn't want to do anything because I was so upset. But it gets better. It always gets better. If I didn't have my friends there to support me through those hard times, there's not telling the kind of person I would be today. So each day, I thank my friends for their support. Though I may not always voice these thanks, I'm constantly giving them.
Friends are there to make your life enjoyable. My friends know I'm always open to listen and I will always have their back. I may not sugarcoat things to make them feel better, and though they think the truth hurts, it's a lot easier to deal with than the lies that come out later down the road. Everything I do for my friends is done because I care for them. They deserve the best, and I give them the best I can.
So surround yourself with good people. People you will always care for and people who will always care for you. Friendship is one of the most important things to have in life because without it, you're alone and vulnerable.
Keep it Kla$$y
I think Sunset has been playing a little too much Ke$ha during lunches, because people are brushing their teeth with Jack just a little too much and taking it all off just a little too often. Why not just cover the school in glitter? That way we can complete the sloppy Ke$ha takeover of Sunset.
I'm not trying to judge you for having fun every once and a while, but blacking out every weekend doesn't sound fun to me. If that's your idea of fun, well, I honestly have nothing to say to that. I'm speechless. I guess I'll have some great stories to tell at your funeral when you die from liver poisoning. If you "go hard" every once and a while, I don't care. If you go every weekend, I don't care either. It just doesn't tickle my fancy.
Anyway, I better go to Michael's to stock up on glitter. Get $leazy. Ke$ha's taking over.
Branching Out
I've met so many new people. Well, technically, I already knew them, but I've gotten to know them a lot better now and I'm so happy about that. These new people I've gotten to know are awesome and I wish I had known them better last year, but the past is in the past; there is nothing I can do about it now. I've realized that time goes by quickly, and we only have a limited amount of it. People should really branch out more often. The world would be a much better place, and there wouldn't be as much drama, or as many cliques. If everyone was civil to everyone else, not only would there be world peace, but high school may actually be bearable.
The classes I'm taking this year are stressful, to say the least. But that doesn't mean I don't enjoy them. When forecasting for senior year, I went in with the thoughts that its the last year I have to pick whatever classes I want; they don't need to relate to a major. And with that in mind, I've compiled quite the schedule. I forecasted for classes I wouldn't have normally taken, and I'm glad I did. I took a risk, and the risk is paying off.
So far, I wouldn't change one thing about this year. I've learned to deal with the people that irritate me by ignoring them. I don't let little things get to me anymore. I act myself, and if you choose not to accept that, then that's your loss. I'm not afraid of high school anymore. I'm not afraid of what people think about me. I'm not afraid of being judged. I know that as long as I'm happy, I've got nothing to worry about. Sure, I've had a couple rough patches so far, what with college and all that, but I've over come those difficulties.
This year, I've learned to never dwell on things in the past. Things change and there is nothing that can be done about it. It just needs to be accepted. They call it the past for a reason. Besides, if I've gone this long, the thing that left clearly wasn't needed.
My friends have been such great support lately, and I want to thank all of them for that. You know who you are. If it weren't for my friends, I don't even know how I would have survived this far. They have been with me for more than just this past month. I'm glad to say I have the most amazing best friends anyone could ever ask for, and without them, my life would be a disaster. They stick with me through thick and thin, as I do, them. High school is a time to truly find yourself. For those of you who have yet to do that, I wish you the best of luck. It may be rough, but in the end, it is completely worth it. I have discovered so much about myself over these last four years, and though it was tough at times, it has made me a better and stronger person.
As I always say, high school is never easy, and if you let it get to you, it will never be easy. Live a carefree life, making sure every day is as good as you can make it. Never have a bad day, and never let a bad thing affect you. "As long as you believe in yourself, you can do anything"
Tuesday, October 4, 2011
Advice
I was talking about how I feel as if all of my friends know exactly what their post-high school plans are, where they are going, what they are doing, and I feel like I'm miles behind because I have no clue. He told me that it is a completely normal feeling. Everyone gets lost in their life at some point, but they eventually find their way. No one knows exactly what they want to do from the second they are born. It is completely normal to wonder, to have doubts, and to change your ideas.
I was saying how I don't know what to do because I feel like I'm stuck with it for the rest of my life, and what happens if I don't enjoy it? He told me that no one is ever stuck doing anything. If I pick something and later realize it's not what I had in mind, I always have the ability to change it. It's better to pick something and change it a million times than to pick nothing at all. That's the beauty about college these days. Changing a major is easy. And there are so many possibilities, it shouldn't be an issue to find something enjoyable.
The last thing we talked about was determination. Determination will get you anywhere, and anything. If you go into a situation with a positive attitude and the thoughts of doing well, the outcome will always be good. Always work towards your best and things in life will be easier. He said that if everyone aspired to be the best that they can, the world would be a much more successful place.
It's been a bit of an unorganized post, just rambling on about advice. I'm just so fortunate to have this person, and many others, in my life. They make me aspire to reach my full potential, and for that, I'm more grateful than I can ever show. So for those of you who help to push me, or other people you know, to be the best they can be, I would like to send out a gigantic thank you. It means the world, and it will take until the end of the world for me to show you my appreciation.
Monday, October 3, 2011
Pre-Determined Life
I've been so stressed out lately, for a lot of reasons. One being college. I don't know what I want to do. Sure, I've got a few ideas, but I'm skeptical about them. I have no idea where to go, and my choices aren't exactly limited. There are too many options, and I'm stressing out. Plus, I don't know what I want to study, and I'm afraid that I wont like what I initially choose. I know a major can always be changed, but what if I don't know what to change it to? What if I get halfway through college and realize I don't want to do what it is I'm majoring in for the rest of my life? What happens if I run out of back up plans and end up stalled? Where does my life go from there? If I already knew what I was doing, and knew I was happy with it, it would be so easy. But that is just impossible.
I'm seventeen years old, and lost. I don't know what I want in life. I don't even know what I want for a snack. I'm clueless. And I've got absolutely no idea where to begin this hunt for what to do. My thoughts are all scrambled and I don't know how to unscramble them.
All I know is I'm hungry, and I'm confused. Why can't I know all the answers? Why can't I know how my life is going to turn out? Why can't life be easier? We are faced with challenges daily, and the way we respond to those challenges determine who we are in life. I know a bunch of "what if" questions is getting me nowhere, but what's the harm in asking?
I just want to know what it is that I want. Is that too much to ask?
Sunday, October 2, 2011
Watch Your Mouth
I'm definitely not one to judge, I've had my subtweets here and there, but I know I have never said anything brutal in them about someone I pretend to be friends with at school. I'm a very honest person, and I know first hand that sometimes, it can definitely come back around. So you all should watch your backs. "Meet karma getting bitch".
Like I've said a million times before, judging doesn't do anyone any good. But neither does subtweeting or being rude to someone just for the pure joy of it. That is just satanical. Honestly people, if you wouldn't say it in person, DON'T SAY IT ONLINE. It's not that difficult of a concept to grasp.
On a different, yet similar note, twitter is for the purpose of letting everyone know what you're doing at that exact moment. It's not to tweet about how the girl sitting next to you in first period looks like a whore because her skirt is too short, or about how the guy with the pink hair in your fourth period class is a loser. THAT IS NOT OKAY. If it wouldn't be okay to say to the person's face, why would you ever think its okay to say on the Internet? The stuff posted on the internet is out there forever, and anyone can see it, even if you don't think so. But once again, people feel stronger over the internet because it's not their words. It's their thoughts. But thoughts are for yourself, so how about we all keep it that way?
Some people just need to think about what they say before they let the words escape their lips. Unfortunately, we don't live in a world where we can just go around saying whatever we feel like without consequences. There are always consequences. People need to understand that words can hurt. We know the saying "sticks and stones may break my bones but words will never hurt me", but words can hurt. They can be sharp, and if said a certain way, they can cut deep. So lets pay attention to what we're saying and who we may be hurting. Who knows, that may even create less drama, and that would be two problems solved.
Kill two birds with one stone and think before you speak.
Saturday, October 1, 2011
What is Life
I've never really realized how important it is to continually have good grades. There is never a chance to have a break. Colleges look at not only grades from the previous year, but cumulative GPAs. One little lazy semester can change everything and as a result, the big beautiful acceptance letter from the college of your dreams may never come. Sure, sometimes they understand if you've had serious personal issues, but they can't make exceptions for everybody. If they did, we wouldn't have to suffer through 20 page long applications.
Another thing that stresses me out is the application in general. I can't stand when people ask me to tell them about myself, the good things about me and the bad things about me. I don't like it. I don't ever know what to say, and when I say the good things, I feel as if I'm bragging and sounding cocky. When I say the bad things, it makes me look like I shouldn't get to go to the college. Why can't they just take a guess for themselves? I mean, honestly, when you ask what is good about someone, they will all probably say "I'm a hard worker, I'm a fast learner, I like to focus on my goals". It will all sound the same, so why not make an admissions essay be at least enjoyable?
My mind is so boggled right now, I've had complete over-stimulation today. And it's only 3:30. SAT's weren't as difficult as I expected, which I'm glad of, but still, it took four hours. FOUR!! So I'm keeping it short and sweet today, because I've got a serious headache. Too much work. Too stressed out. This is a time when I SERIOUSLY need that remote from the movie Click.
Thursday, September 29, 2011
I Don't Get It
- People
- Girls
- High School
- Rules
- Judging
Tuesday, September 27, 2011
Granite is More Than a Rock
We all know there are three "Social classes" at Sunset; rich, middle, and poor. (While I don't like to use these terms, sometimes, its the only way I can express what I'm trying to say.) Even though the school may be subconsciously categorized this way, that doesn't make any one group better than another. I mean, so what if you and your family of four live in a mega mansion and have three spare bedrooms while the person sitting next to you in health lives in a two bedroom apartment. No one is better than the other, and if you disagree, that makes you worse. So get off your porcelain pony and realize we are all equals. That's what America was founded upon, right? The same principles apply all these years later. WE ARE EQUAL.
Sometimes, I think we take even the smallest things for granite. I mean, we should be grateful that we have opposable thumbs and individual fingers. It could be worse, it could always be worse. But that saying is what people don't always get.
FIFA12 came out today, and if you didn't get it, you're a loser. But maybe you didn't get it because you don't have $60 to throw away on a game. Maybe you're saving that $60 to help pay for college. Or maybe you don't own an xbox, or a PS3. Just because you didn't follow the trend doesn't make you a loser. Those who did get the game probably don't realize how lucky they are to be able to afford it and be able to play it. So while you play all night, take a second during half time to think "wow, I'm really lucky I was able to get this and play it".
Another huge thing we as teenagers take for granite is our car. First off, there are some FAMILIES who don't have cars, so be grateful if you have one. Second, be thankful you have parents willing to pay for car insurance or damages, if that is the case with you. (I know some people have to pay their own insurance, or at least part of it) I mean, really, I'm terribly sorry you crashed your brand new 2011 convertible into a pole while texting. But not really. Why? Because Daddy is there to pick up the pieces and glue your car back together with gold. No sweat off your back. (Thank goodness, because then you'd have to return that brand new $50 shirt, right?)
Oh, one thing that REALLY gets me going is when people complain about having to go to school. With all due respect, SHUT UP. There are kids all over the world who would give anything to be able to go to school. At least we have free public education in America. Consider yourself lucky.
Just wanted to give a shout out to James Nielssen and the others who are apart of RTD Clothing. I respect what they are doing. Way to follow your dreams. Check it out
Also, shout out to Trevor Allen for having the best blog.
Saturday, September 24, 2011
Anytime, Anywhere
This is my first official blog from my phone. My internet is not currently working and Im done trying to fix it. Too complicated.
Its crazy how now, we can do almost anything on phones. The name "Smart phone" does not do the device justice. More like life phones, because we all know that without it, we're as good as dead. What is even crazier to think about is the fact that around the time we were born, (assuming you're around seventeen years old) cell phones were just getting big and they were the size of a toaster! (Not those 4 slice toasters, those are gigantic) It is remarkable to think of how far technology has come in just 17 years. Phones are now as small as a hand and they have touch screens and internet. You know all about that because I bet you have a smart phone of some sort. And if, for some crazy reason you don't, I suggest you get one. It's the latest trend, and you know what they say about high schoolers and trends. If you're not in, you're out.
Smart phones are great, but I feel like there is more harm to them than good. Kids are on them all day at school, so when it comes time to do homework, they are clueless. Oh but don't worry, you can just tweet a friend and hope they see it. Which is very likely due two the fact that everyone has a twitter. Again, if you're not in, you're out.
Smart phones destroy social interactions. No one wants to walk up to the front door of a house and knock when they can just send a simple text saying "here" while awkwardly sitting in their car, waiting for the person to see the text. (Which will happen fast because we always have our phones on us) People don't want to call each other when they can just text or tweet one another. We live and speak through our phones. Its amazing we still have voices.
The craziest thing to think about is what our children will have. With technology advancing so fast, they can probably just teleport. I guess that solves the social interactions issue though.
I guess what im kind of getting at is that we all take too much pride in our phones. We would rather save our phones than our computer, because phones can do more. (Just do me a favor and read that last sentence again and really think of how insane that is. Thanks) I'm willing to prove I can survive a day without my phone, but can everyone? Challenge me.
Thursday, September 22, 2011
Dirty Mouths
I'll admit, I get pretty bummed when a team I like loses, and during the game I may say some harsh things, but I would never tell the winning team that they are in the wrong to celebrate. Play well and you deserve to win. Win, and you deserve to celebrate. Play poorly and lose. Lose, and you get trash talked. It may not necessarily be deserved, but it happens, and there is nothing that can be done about it.
Don't let the little things annoy you, or you may never be happy.
Age Discrimination
Lets talk about the MAC Club. If anyone else belongs here, please let me know.
I am a member of the Multnomah Athletic Club, and for those of you who aren't familiar with it, its basically like SAC, but a lot "fancier". Some people call it the "rich kid club". But this club is full of old people who hate kids. I swear, they are like anti-children because they think all children are the spawn of the devil. News flash! That's only a select handful. And I'm not one of them, I promise. These old people are so high maintenance, which is part of the problem with this club. They must have everything PERFECT, which is a bit ridiculous if you ask me. But nothing is as ridiculous as the long list of rules. Lets name a few.
1. No Juniors (kids under 18) allowed in the club before 2pm
2. No rubber flip flops on the main floor.
3. No athletic attire on the main floor.
4. No cell phones unless used in designated areas.
5. No basketball shorts in main floor restaurants.
6. Dress code:
- Clean, neat athletic warm-up suits and athletic shoes
- Tailored shorts extending to mid-thigh or below, slacks or clean and neat denim jeans
- Sport shirts, sweaters or dress T-Shirts (sleeved, collarless shirts not dominated by writing, logos or printed designs)
Oh don't worry, that's only a few. Oh there's also the rule that juniors aren't allowed in the restaurants after 8pm.
So, today I went down to the club to go work out. The time was around 12:30. (I get out of school at 11 on even days) I swipe my card and I'm on my merry way when the guy at the front desk stops me and tells me I'm technically not allowed into the club before 2pm. I tell him I'm out of school, but he calls the front desk and I basically get kicked out. But not before I swipe a complaint card. They will definitely be hearing from me, multiple times and in multiple ways. I just don't understand why I'm not allowed in. Like, I get if I was a menace to society, but its not like I'm going to run down the hallways knocking people over. I'm not 5 years old people. I'm almost an adult, I have like 7 more months, so cut me some slack!
My family pays money every month to be members of this prestigious club, so shouldn't we be able to come when we want to use it? I'm trying to stay fit here people! I thought that was the point of belonging to an ATHLETIC club.... Also, all the people in charge of the rules and on the house committee and what not are old, and they are the anti-children fools. They are the cause of these ridiculous rules, and anti children rules, and that's age discrimination. I'm pretty sure that isn't allowed.
Another bogus rule is that when there is a Timbers game, members aren't allowed to go out onto the balconies and watch, unless we bought tickets! ARE YOU SERIOUS BRO?! We pay enough money a month to be allowed to watch the freaking games! We didn't have to pay to watch the Beavers back when JELD-WEN was PGE Park! Granted, the Timbers is soccer, plus they are a lot better than the Beavers were, but still. Its completely bogus.
Oh my, I forgot to mention that I didn't have school one day last year, and my sister and I were meeting my mom at the club to go to lunch downtown and I REALLY had to go to the bathroom, so I tried to go into the club, but it was before 2 and the lady wouldn't let me in. I was like seriously? You can see the bathroom from your desk. I promise I'm not going to steal anything or do anything but use the restroom! You can even follow me in there if you so desire. But she wouldn't let me in. So I peed my pants. (Not really, but it could have been totally possible, and entirely her fault).
Don't even get me started on the general manager. Its like he takes cranky pills in the morning. He wrote me up once, and actually gave me a warning ticket because I was passing through the main lobby in basketball shorts. Oh boy, sue me. I was just going to the elevator because the athletic one wasn't working.
The club is eight stories, and takes up an entire block. You would think they wouldn't be so anti-kids seeing as its so spacious. Its like you don't even know we're there! I mean I even get lost in that place sometimes, and I've been a member my entire life. One time, I found the boiler room, it was crazy! And I have no idea how I got there because I took all these random staircases and service elevators. It was a miracle I came out alive. Or at all for that matter. The point is, the place is massive, and there are probably 10x more kids that belong than adults. Why not designate one of the eight floors to juniors? Or just get over the fact that we're kids, and let us live free. Everyone was a kid once, so why don't they understand?
Anyway, its almost 2, so I'm going to attempt this again, and hopefully it goes better.
For anyone who belongs to the MAC, please try to contact someone about this ridiculous "no juniors before 2" rule. Even the guy who kicked me out thought it was a stupid rule. The louder we complain, the more likely they are to change it.
Wednesday, September 21, 2011
Daily Struggles
It doesn't matter what you wear, or how much money you spend on the entire outfit. You'll still get judged for it. Though it's not widely known, what you wear can put you into cliques. The outfits you wear are exactly like the outfits of the other people in your "designated clique", but you don't even realize it. If 10 people were randomly picked out of a crowd, I bet you I could tell you what stereotypical high school clique they would fit into, just by looking at what they are wearing. Its funny how cliques have expanded to more than just our personalities, but to the way we talk, act, and even what we wear.
I guess I'm just going to have to face the facts of life and get over the stereotypes in high school, as well as the harsh society it creates. If best friends want to go up against one another because they both like the same superstar soccer player, then so be it. If shoving a freshman in a locker makes you feel strong, then I guess that's that, as long as you can sleep at night. I learned that sometimes, the best way of fighting back is to do nothing at all. There is only so much change one person can make before they get worn out too. Besides, high school has been this way for decades. And they say some things never change.
But on a lighter note, watch this. You may not get it as much as I do, but its still funny. HILARIOUS
Tuesday, September 20, 2011
Labels
People these days are afraid. No one wants to stand out, no one wants to be different. But why? What bad will it do to be yourself? Well that's an easy question. If you're yourself, you get judged. You are judged by everyone for being different, for standing out, and for doing what you want to do. If you don't wear the right clothes, you get laughed at. If you don't act a certain way, people think you're weird. If you don't like to eat lunch in the cafeteria, you are automatically labeled. High school is a dog-eat-dog world. We label each other because we are insecure about ourselves.
You like theater, you're a theater nerd. You're in leadership, you're popular. You're a cheerleader, you're a mean girl. You like math, you're a nerd. LABELS. They are all just labels. Yet we let them define us. And we allow ourselves to use them to define others. I'm far from perfect, and I'll be the first to admit it. Yet no one stands up to these labels because they don't want to be labeled as something different. (And they all probably like where their nose is in relation to their faces as well). That is the problem right there, no one is willing to stand up and say, "Yeah, I may be different, but at least I'm me, and I like that".
We put each other into cliques, and people stick to their cliques because they know it's safe. LIVE A LITTLE, PEOPLE! Everyone is saying "lets mix it up at lunch, lets all get along, everyone can be friends" and in a perfect world, I'm sure it would be possible. But this isn't a perfect world, and as much as we'd like to believe it will happen, lets be honest with ourselves. It will never happen. No one is willing to dive into something new, or even dip their toes in to test it out. Make a ripple in the pool of High School and all hell breaks loose. Best friends soon become enemies, and the hierarchy of high school crumbles before our eyes.
I hope to making a ripple. But a positive one. I'm willing to be myself, to show my true colors, and to put everything out there. If you want to judge me, then by all means, judge away. But let me know how all that judging is working out for you later on in life. I'll be laughing all the way to the bank. (That way, I can cash my check and go buy all the expensive clothes I should have had in high school.)
Social Suicide
Guess Who's Back?!
I discovered that brutally honest blogging is not exactly the best thing. Yes, I'm brave enough to say what is on my mind, but I realized that sometimes, what is really on my mind should be left with only my mind. There are times when brutal blogging does way more harm than good, and I consider myself lucky that I never got to the harmful part. Personally, I like the location of my nose in relation to the rest of my face, and if its all the same to everyone else, I'd like to keep it that way.
So here beings a new leaf, a fresh start, and, hopefully, still the same old me. Just maybe not quite as brutal, but hopefully not boring.
Enjoy